Bringing in the New Year in Barcelona

I spent 3 nights in Barcelona last year, including bringing in the New Year. Okay, so really I slept through that part, but I was tired from a full day of exploring and had an early flight out.

Barcelona is a pretty great city. Gaudi central. Gaudi was an architect with a unique view of the world, that he put into all of his designs.

I stayed in the Gothic Quarter while in Barcelona. After checking in, I spent my first day wandering (and several times getting lost) through the small alleys of the Gothic Quarter, checking out many of the boutique stores.

lights-in-gothic-quarter

I checked out several of Gaudi’s designs during my trip. My first stop was Casa Batllo. Named after the Batllo family, who owned the house, Gaudi did a complete renovation of the house from 1904-1906.

Park Guell is another of Gaudi’s designs.It feels a bit like walking into a strange theme park. The park has a view overlooking Barcelona.

No visit to Barcelona is complete without a visit to the famed La Sagrada Familia. The church has been a work in progress since 1882. The plan is to have it completed by 2026, the 100th anniversary of Antoni Gaudi’s death.

On my last full day, I took a tour of the Palau de la Musica Catalan, visited Monjuic Castle and Pablo Espanyol. I took a quick look at a former bullfighting arena turned mall on my way back to my room.

Leave a comment